Can We Travel Inter-State Via Road? Do We Still Need An E-Pass?; Know All Details

India is entered to the fourth phase of lockdown from today, 18 May. It will last until the end of this month, said the guidelines issued by the Home Ministry on Sunday. The guidelines, however, are slightly different from the previous lockdowns with relaxations allowed for the resumption of economic activities.

Unlike the previous guidelines, the new set of rules issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs on 17 May says:

Inter-state movement of passenger vehicles and buses, with mutual consent of the state(s) and UT(s) involved.
Intra-state movement of passenger vehicles and buses, as decided by the states and UTs. You can travel inter-state in a private vehicle, provided that you have a travel pass.

For e-pass, you can either contact the District Magistrate’s office or apply online at

This portal is being used by at least 17 states in India to issue travel passes to individuals and groups. Once you select the origin state, you will be re-directed to the state’s individual travel pass application website where you fill in the required information. Avoid applying for e-pass on multiple portals.

You can also apply for e-pass at 

While the requirement of documents and details differ from state to state, these are some basic requirements mandated by all states.

  • Basic details like name, age, gender, date of birth
  • Identity proof like Aadhaar card, passport number
  • The address you are travelling from and to
  • Vehicle number and license number
  • Date of travel, and date of the return (if applicable)
  • States also ask for details like whether the concerned person has been quarantined or shown coronavirus symptoms in the recent past.

Once you apply for e-pass, the portal will give you a reference number. Note down this number and keep tracking the status of the same on the portal. If your pass is approved, you will get a document with your name, address, validity and a QR code. However, there are also chances of your e-pass being rejected. Keep the e-pass with you at all times while travelling.

Even if you have the pass, it is possible and completely at the state’s discretion to ban your entry to the state. For example, Karnataka has banned the entry of people from Maharashtra, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker