Kerala State Film Awards was announced; Best actor Suraj Venjaramoodu, actress Kani Kusruti

Thiruvananthapuram: The 50th Kerala State Film Awards was announced by Minister for Culture A K Balan here on Tuesday. The award for the best movie was given to ‘Vasanthi’ directed by Rahman Brothers. Suraj Venjaramoodu won the award for the best actor for his performance in ‘Android Kunjappan’ and Kani Kusruti became the best actress for her role in ‘Biriyani’.

Lijo Jose Pellissery, who directed the movie ‘Jallikkettu’, is the best director. Fahadh Faasil became the best actor in character role for his performance in ‘Kumbalangi Nights’ and Swasika was selected for the award for best actress in character role for the movie ‘Vasanthi’.

P S Rafeeq, the screenwriter of the movie ‘Thottappan’ has been selected for the Award for the Best Screenplay. Sushin Shyam won the Award for best music composition for the movie ‘Kumbalangi Nights’.

Sidharth Priyadarshan win a Special Jury Award for the movie ‘Marakkar-Arabikkadalinte Simham’. Nivin Pauly and Anna Ben received special jury mention for their performance in ‘Moothon’ and ‘Helen’ respectively.

Best debut director – Ratheesh Pothuval (Android Kunjappan)

Second best movie – ‘Kenjira’ (Manoj Kana)

Popular movie – ‘Kumbalangi Nights’

Best child artist – Catherine Viji

Best playback singer male – Najim Arshad

Best playback singer female – Madhusree Narayanan

Best dubbing artiste – Vineeth (Lucifer, Marakkar)

Best editor – Kiran Das (Ishq)

Best screenplay – Rahman Brothers (Vasanthi)

Best sound mixing – Kannan Ganapati

Best children’s movie – ‘Nani’

Best article on movies – ‘Madambilliyile Manorogi’ (Bipin Chandran)

A total of 119 movies are included in the competition category. Cinematographer and director Madhu Ambat is the chairman of the jury. Directors Salim Ahmed, Abrid Shine, cinematographer Vipin Mohan, editor L Bhuminathan, sound engineer S Radhakrishnan, playback singer Lathika, actress Jomol, writer Benyamin, Film Academy member secretary C Ajoy are the jury members.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker