Nandigram does not abandon Mamata; 1200-vote victory

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee wins Nandigram constituency by 1200 votes, defeating BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari.

Nandigram has been monopolized by the Trinamool Congress since the 2009 by-elections following the 2007 land grab agitation.

Feroze Bibi won the by-election from Trinamool and the 2011 Assembly elections. In 2016, Suvendu Adhikari contested and won. Trinamool’s Feroze Bibi won the 2011 elections with 61.21% of the vote. The CPI got 35.35% of the votes while the BJP got 1.72% of the votes. In the 2016 elections, Suvendu Adhikari won with 67.20% of the vote. The CPI got 26.70% of the votes while the BJP got 5.40% of the votes. The Socialist Unity Center of India polled 0.40% of the vote, the Bharatiya Navshakti Party 0.40%, and the Bharatiya Navshakti Party 0.40%.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker