Mamata Banerjee has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of West Bengal

Kolkata: Mamata Banerjee has been sworn in as the new Chief Minister of West Bengal amid continuing political tensions. This is Mamata’s third term as Chief Minister. A simple ceremony was held at the palace following the Covid defense guidelines. There were only 67 guests. Governor Jagadeep Dhankar administered the oath of office.

Former Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharya, BJP Bengal president Dilip Ghosh, former opposition leader Abdul Mannan and BCCI president Sourav Ganguly were among the few who were invited. Sourav Ganguly was the chief guest at the function. But BJP Bengal president Dilip Ghosh was absent from the function.

Meanwhile, the BJP will today stage a nationwide protest alleging that Trinamool Congress workers are unleashing violence in various parts of Bengal following the election results. BJP national president JP Nadda is in Bengal.

There have been complaints that women have been abused and assaulted during the violence. The National Commission for Women initiated the proceedings voluntarily. Commission chairperson Rekha Sharma will visit the state. BJP spokesperson Gaurav Bhatia has filed a petition in the Supreme Court seeking a CBI probe. Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said about 400 BJP workers and their families had fled to Assam from Bengal.

The Government of Bengal informed the Election Commission that protection had been arranged for the polling officer at Nandigram. Mamata Banerjee had yesterday said that the counting of votes would not be held again out of fear for life.

When the full results came out, the Trinamool Congress’ vote share was 5% more than in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The BJP’s share fell by 3%. The share of the CPM-Congress alliance is less than 8 per cent.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker