The 22nd Kargil Vijay Diwas was held at the Kargil War Memorial

Dras: The Kargil War Memorial in Dras hosted a solemn ceremony to commemorate the 22nd anniversary of the Kargil Vijay Diwas on Monday (July 26). The Chief Guest was RK Mathur, Hon’ble Lt Governor, who laid a wreath and paid tribute to the fallen soldiers in a ceremony held at the Kargil War Memorial, symbolising ‘Shradhanjali’ from the entire Nation to the Bravehearts.

The Kargil Vijay Diwas celebrations this year were unique in two ways. First, the Kargil Vijay Diwas coincided with the arrival of the ‘Swarnim Vijay Varsh Victory Flame’ at the Kargil War Memorial. The Victory Flame’s journey across the country commemorates 50 years of victory in the 1971 Indo-Pak War.

The ceremony began on July 26 at the Kargil War Memorial with the reception of the ‘Swarnim Vijay Varsh Victory Flame’ by General Bipin Rawat, Chief of Defence Staff, in the presence of Lt Gen YK Joshi, GOC-in-C Northern Command, Lt Gen PGK Menon, GOC 14 Corps, Lt Gen DP Pandey, GOC 15 Corps, and Lt Gen MV Suchindra Kumar, GOC 16 Corps, other officers

It was then followed by a solemn Wreath Laying Ceremony attended by distinguished civil and military dignitaries. The Kargil War gallantry awardees, bravehearts’ next of kin, and veer naris also paid their tearful tributes to the fallen heroes.

Every year on this day, the nation pays tribute to our Bravehearts’ supreme sacrifices during Operation VIJAY in the Kargil War of 1999.


Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker