MCD elections; AAP Defeats BJP For First Time

In the Municipal Corporation of Delhi elections, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) defeats BJP for the first time with 134 seats. Delhi, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal thanked the people for AAP’s victory and sought the cooperation of the BJP.

The Congress has managed to stake a claim over seven seats. Interestingly, three of these wards were won by the AAP in 2017 and one by the BJP.

Independent candidate Shakeela Begum has won the Seelampur seat, while Meena Devi and Gajender Singh Daral have won the Isapur and Mundka seats, respectively. This was the first election after the MCD was reunified earlier this year.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker