State film awards distributed; Chief Minister Emphasizes Cinema’s Role in Preserving Traditions

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan emphasized that cinema serves as a potent instrument in combatting the prevailing shadows of immorality and expressed his concern about the artistic environment that fosters such trends in the country. He made these remarks while presenting the 2022 State Film Awards during a ceremony held at the Nishagandhi Auditorium.

He voiced deep apprehension regarding the proliferation of darkness in various aspects of the nation’s social, political, and cultural landscape. Amidst this backdrop, Kerala stands out as a beacon of enlightenment. Chief Minister Vijayan lamented the misuse of cinema to tarnish Kerala’s image on a national and global scale. He highlighted the dissemination of narratives that misrepresent the true essence of Kerala, aiming to stoke religious tensions and sow discord among the populace. He underscored that such productions could hardly be categorized as movies, as they primarily function as tools of propaganda. Additionally, the Chief Minister drew attention to the divisive nature of another film, “Kashmir Files,” which promoted communal hatred.

During the awards ceremony, Director T V Chandran received the JC Daniel Award, the most prestigious film award in the state, while Director Shyama Prasad was honored with the Television Lifetime Achievement Award. “Nanpakal Nerath Mayakkam” earned the Best Film award, and Lijo Jose Pellissery accepted the Best Actor award on behalf of Mammootty, who was absent. Mahesh Narayanan was recognized as the Best Director for “Ariyippu,” and Vincy Aloysius received the Best Actress award. Special Jury Awards were presented to Kunchacko Boban and Alencier Lay Lopez.

The event was presided over by Minister Saji Cherian and attended by various dignitaries, including Ministers V Shivankutty, G R Anil, Antony Raju, V K Prashant MLA, District Panchayat President D Suresh Kumar, Jury Chairman Gautam Ghosh, Cultural Welfare Board Chairman Madhupal, Cultural Secretary Mini Antony, Film Academy Chairman Ranjith, Vice Chairman Premkumar, Secretary C Ajoy, and others.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker