Banks will be closed for a total of 21 days in October 2021, according to important dates.

New Delhi: The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has announced that some banking operations will be suspended in October 2021, through online banking operations will continue to operate.

Before visiting your bank branch in October, you should make a list of the important days when banks will be closed.

Banks will be closed for a total of 21 days in October, with some falling under the Reserve Bank of India’s (RBI) holiday calendar list and the rest falling under weekends. However, banking activities in different states may differ.

However, it should be noted that bank holidays vary by state and are not observed by all banking institutions. Banking holidays are also affected by festivals observed in specific states or notification of specific events in those states.

Here is a comprehensive list of bank holidays in the month of October 2021. Take a look at the list.

The following are the complete list of bank holidays in October 2021:

October 1 – Half Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts (Sikkim)

October 2 – Gandhi Jayanti (Pan India)

October 3 – Sunday

October 6 – Mahalaya Amavasye (West Bengal, Tripura, Karnataka)

October 7 – Mera Chaoren Houba of Lainingthou Sanamahi (Tripura, West Bengal, Meghalaya)

October 9 – 2nd Saturday

October 10 – Sunday

October 12 – Durga Puja (Maha Saptami) / (West Bengal, Tripura)

October 13 – Durga Puja (Maha Ashtami) / (West Bengal, Sikkim, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Manipur, Tripura, Assam )

October 14 – Durga Puja/Dussehra (Maha Navami)/Ayutha Pooja (West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Tamil Nadu, Sikkim, Puducherry, Odisha, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Kerala, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Bihar, Assam)

October 15 – Durga Puja/Dasara/Dusshera (Vijaya Dashmi) / (National except for Manipur, Himachal Pradesh)

October 16 – Durga Puja (Dasain) / (Sikkim)

October 17 – Sunday

October 18 – Kati Bihu (Assam)

October 19 – Id-E-Milad/Eid-e-Miladunnabi/Milad-i-Sherif (Prophet Mohammad’s Birthday)/Baravafat (Nation except for Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Jammu, Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Delhi, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand )

October 20 – Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday/Lakshmi Puja/Id-E-Milad (Tripura, Punjab, West Bengal, Karnataka, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh)

October 22 – Friday following Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi (Jammu and Kashmir )

October 23 – 4th Saturday

October 24 – Sunday

The Reserve Bank of India categorises its holidays into three categories: holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act, holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act and Real Time Gross Settlement, and bank closings.

The mentioned days will be observed as holidays in various regions based on the state declared holidays; however, for the gazetted holidays, banks will be closed throughout the country.

If you keep track of these holidays, you will be able to better plan your bank transaction activities. You can even plan your vacations for long weekends.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker