Voting Underway in Fourth Phase of Lok Sabha Elections Across India

The fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections has commenced with voting taking place in 96 parliamentary constituencies spread across nine states and one Union Territory. This phase also coincides with polling for all 175 seats of the Andhra Pradesh State Legislative Assembly and 28 seats of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly. The Election Commission has announced a total of 1,717 candidates from 10 states and Union Territories contesting in this phase, with a significant number of 4,264 nominations filed for the parliamentary constituencies. Notable leaders like Asaduddin Owaisi, Akhilesh Yadav, and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury are among those participating, adding significance to the electoral landscape. Key constituencies such as Baharampur, Hyderabad, and Srinagar are witnessing intense contests, with the Election Commission extending polling times in certain segments of Telangana to encourage voter turnout.

Additionally, the weather forecast, as per the IMD, indicates favorable conditions for polling, with temperatures expected to remain normal to below-normal in the areas where voting is underway. Despite concerns, meticulous arrangements have been made at all polling stations to ensure the convenience of voters, including provisions for water, shelter, and ventilation. The smooth conduct of polling in the previous phases, encompassing 283 Lok Sabha seats, has set a positive precedent, instilling confidence in the electoral process. As voters exercise their democratic right in this phase, the focus remains on ensuring a free, fair, and peaceful electoral exercise that reflects the will of the people.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker