Historic Win for Suresh Gopi in Thrissur as UDF Dominates Kerala Lok Sabha Elections

A strong wave of support for the United Democratic Front (UDF) has swept across Kerala, as the official results of the Lok Sabha elections are declared. The UDF has successfully seized 18 out of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in the state. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPM]’s only victory was in Alathur, where Minister K Radhakakrishnan contested. Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) made history by registering its first-ever victory in the Lok Sabha elections in Kerala, with actor-turned-politician Suresh Gopi winning in Thrissur by a margin of over 75,000 votes.

In the Attingal constituency, the contest was intense until the final count, with sitting MP Adoor Prakash defeating the LDF’s V Joy by a narrow margin of 1,708 votes. Notable defeats include sitting MPs K Muraleedharan, who switched from Vadakara to Thrissur, Ramya Haridas in Alathur, and AM Ariff in Alappuzha. Mavelikkara sitting MP Kodikunnil Suresh defeated the LDF’s CA Arunkumar by 9,000 votes. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi secured a massive victory in Wayanad with a margin of nearly 3.5 lakh votes.

Several other leaders also won by significant margins: Hibi Eden in Ernakulam, ET Mohammed Basheer in Malappuram, and Abdussamad Samadani in Ponnani each won by over 2 lakh votes. NK Premachadran (Kollam), Dean Kuriakose (Idukki), MK Raghavan (Kozhikode), and Shafi Parambil (Vadakara) won by margins exceeding 1 lakh votes. Rajmohan Unnithan (Kasargod), Francis George (Kottayam), Anto Antony (Pathanamthitta), and Benny Behanan (Chalakudy) secured their seats with margins of over 50,000 votes.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker