Modi to Take Oath as PM today, Coalition Discussions Ongoing

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi will be sworn in today for his third consecutive term, matching the record of Jawaharlal Nehru. The BJP is currently in discussions with its National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partners about the allocation of cabinet positions. Key BJP figures, including Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, and J P Nadda, are negotiating with allies like Telugu Desam Party’s N Chandrababu Naidu, JD(U)’s Nitish Kumar, and Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde.

The BJP is expected to retain major portfolios such as home, finance, defense, and external affairs, while allies might receive five to eight cabinet positions. Confirmed names for the BJP include Shah and Singh, with former chief ministers like Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Sarbananda Sonowal also likely candidates. TDP’s Ram Mohan Naidu, JD(U)’s Lalan Singh, and LJP’s Chirag Paswan are among the allies expected to join the cabinet.

The government formation is particularly focused on states like Maharashtra and Bihar, where assembly elections are imminent and opposition activity is rising. The BJP is also considering internal organizational changes, possibly involving party president J P Nadda. The BJP aims to signal continuity and stability after a drop in their Lok Sabha seats from 303 to 240. Leaders from neighboring countries will attend the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan at 7:15 PM.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker