Ekta Kapoor and Vidya Balan have been invited to the Academy’s Class of 2021, where they will vote for the Oscars.

Vidya Balan, Ekta Kapoor, and Shobha Kapoor have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. They will be among the 395 new artists and executives. Today, The Academy’s official Twitter page announced the names of the 395 new members. To recall, Alia Bhatt and Hrithik Roshan were among the 819 new members last year. There were a total of eight Indians on the 2020 list. Fans are overjoyed.

The actress was chosen for her roles in Tumhari Sulu and Kahaani, while Ekta Kapoor was chosen for her roles in Dream Girl and Once Upon a Time in Mumbaai. Her mother, Shobha, has won awards for The Dirty Picture and Udta Punjab. Ye-Ri Han from Minari, Vanessa Kirby from Pieces of Woman, Robert Pattinson, and Christina Oh are also on the list. Oscar winners Yuh-Jung Youn, Emerald Fennell, and Florian Zeller are among the other newcomers. In a statement, the Academy stated, “To enable steady future growth and to ensure the necessary infrastructure, staff resources, and environment to support all Academy members, the number of members invited to membership has been limited to roughly half that of recent years.”

Other artists invited to participate include Henry Golding, Vanessa Kirby, Robert Pattinson, and Yahya Abdul-Mateen II.

The Oscars are given out by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The invitees will be able to vote in this year’s Oscars. Actors, directors, producers, cinematographers, music composers, costume designers, writers, film editors, and casting directors are among those invited.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker