New Delhi: In the wake of a petition calling for a boycott of Cadbury products, the British multinational candy business published a statement debunking claims that it uses gelatin in certain of its products. Negative comments, according to the company, can harm its reputation.
“The image in the Tweet has nothing to do with Mondelez/Cadbury products made in India. In India, all of the products that are manufactured and marketed are vegetarian. The green dot on the wrapper denotes the following: “Cadbury made the announcement on Sunday (July 18).
“As you might expect, unfavorable posts like these erode consumer trust in our well-known and beloved brands. We ask that our customers double-check the facts about our items before sharing them with others “It was also added.
After hundreds of users on Twitter called for a boycott of Cadbury products, the firm issued an official response. A screenshot from a website claiming that if a product has gelatine as an ingredient, it was obtained from beef was extensively shared on social media, prompting their boycott demand.
“Cadbury is the only brand that should be boycotted. This isn’t going to work. Despite the addition of an animal source, it is necessary to sanction those who play with religious beliefs and the law of the country (by showing a green dot on wrappers) “According to one Twitter user.
“@DairyMilkIn, could you please confirm whether the emulsifiers used in the goods are plant-based or animal-based? Because @fssaiindia stated in an RTI that they do not have the means to determine whether or not emulsifiers are vegetarian, “a different user tweeted
Cadbury Dairy Milk tweeted its clarification and responded to Twitter users as more people shared the screenshot and commented on the matter. Some commenters even pointed out that the image was taken from the Cadbury Australia website.