Jude Anthony’s Film ‘2018’ Chosen as India’s Official Oscar Entry

The year 2018 left an indelible mark on the people of Kerala due to the devastating floods it brought. Capturing the essence of this significant event, director Jude Anthony Joseph crafted the film ‘2018 Everyone is a Hero,’ which has now been selected as India’s official entry to the Oscars. The distinguished panel, led by Girish Kasaravalli, made this choice.

The film skillfully portrays the intensity of the 2018 disaster, vividly illustrating how Kerala confronted the monumental floods. Beyond that, ‘2018’ is a narrative of the resilience and bravery exhibited by the Malayalee community. Impressively, the film also achieved membership in the 100-crore club.

The stellar cast includes Tovino Thomas, Asif Ali, Kunchacko Boban, Naren, Lal, Vineeth Sreenivasan, Aju Varghese, Joy Mathew, Jibin, Indrans, Shebin Baker, Sudheesh, Siddique, Tanvi Ram, Vineetha Koshy, Gauthami Nair, Sivada, Aparna Balamurali, and many others. The film’s production was a joint effort by Venu Kunnappally, Anto Joseph, and C K Padma Kumar, with Akhil George handling the cinematography.

It’s worth noting that ‘Guru,’ starring Mohanlal, was the first Malayalam film to secure an Oscar entry, and in 2020, Lijo Jose Pellissery’s ‘Jellikattu’ also received similar recognition.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker